My Go-To Salad

Do you ever find yourself feeling stuffed, five pounds heavier, and too tired to spend more than five minutes on dinner after a few days of heavy meals (or at the end of every weekend)? This weekend has been delicious, with a savory and innovative birthday dinner at Talde, and sampling 20 bacon-laden dishes at the Brooklyn Bacon Takedown. I don’t regret any of it, but it’s already almost 8PM, I don’t have many ingredients at home, and if I have to throw anything on a pan with oil, I’m pretty sure my imagined case of gout will turn very real. And if you want to know where these thoughts of gout came from, just take a look at these photos from the Bacon Takedown.

I wish I had the energy to make a light and healthy soup, or go out and buy a smoothie. But, alas, all the bacon has rendered me immobile and in need of some easily accessible fiber. This is exactly the kind of scenario that gets me craving my go-to salad. Over the summer, I have this salad at least 4 times a week. While its ingredients are not as earthy-flavored and dense as my favorite Fall vegetables, it is easy to throw together, very malleable, and healthy (right?).

Alice’s Go-To Salad

cucumber, peeled and diced

tomato, diced (I prefer cherry tomatoes, for a bit of sweetness, but feel free to substitute whatever variety you enjoy most.)

red onion, very finely diced (In a pinch, I have used red pepper, which is also a great addition to this salad.)

avocado, cubed

feta cheese, cubed (I think any soft goat cheese, even blue cheese, would be a good substitution.)

olive oil, for dressing

balsamic vinegar, for dressing

I haven’t listed quantities for these ingredients, as these will depend on your preferred tastes. I find I frequently use a lot of tomatoes and avocado. If you want to bulk up this salad, you can add some greens of your choosing–I like baby mixed greens. Olives would probably be good, as well, if you’re into that sort of thing (bleh).

Now, for the preparation: toss all of the ingredients in a bowl. You are now ready to sit back, enjoy the last few hours before your work week begins, and atone for your overeating.

Enjoy! And do tell, what is your favorite go-to salad or meal?

Leave a Reply

