Extra Crunchy, Super Spicy, Somewhat Sweet Kale Chips

I ate three bags of Pop Corners last week. Since I am hoping not to start my holiday weight gain until Thanksgiving, and because every once in awhile I like to at least pretend that I am health conscious, I decided to go for an alternative snack tonight. I also happened to buy a huge head of kale at the farmer’s market this weekend, and after an unfortunate kale caesar salad experience, I needed something else to do with that intimidatingly huge head of greens.

I had heard great things about kale chips, and have recently developed a love for dried seaweed. Tonight was the night to see what it was all about. And oh my god I am glad I did. These chips are super crisp, crunchy, spicy (why not?), and sweet (these are for me after all). They are perfect. And hell, I just ate a whole head of greens in one sitting! That can’t be a bad thing, right?

Spicy Sweet Kale Chips

Makes multiple servings, but you’ll eat all of them in one sitting

1 large bunch of kale

1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper

2 teaspoons honey (use spicy honey for an extra kick)

Preheat oven to 275 degrees.

Wash and trim the kale, and dry it very well. Rip off bite size pieces of the kale, making sure to remove and discard the stems.

Combine the oil, spices, and honey. In a large bowl, toss the spice mixture with the kale. Use your hands to toss, and massage the kale as you coat it. Make sure the kale does not get too greasy, by adding the spice mixture in increments. Using too much will make a very greasy kale chip.

 

Place the kale on a baking sheet in one layer. You will likely need two baking sheets. Place in the oven. Bake for 25-30 minutes, flipping half way through the cooking time. The chips are ready when they are as crisp as you want them to be. Eat your greens!

One thought on “Extra Crunchy, Super Spicy, Somewhat Sweet Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

