Pumpkin PIE Ice Cream

I  promise my lack of posting this past week has been for good, delicious reasons. As if three days in San Antonio, Texas weren’t bad enough for my digestive tract, the Chili Takedown I attended today definitely didn’t make things any better. That being said, I have no regrets, other than that after three days in San Antonio I could not imagine eating anything fried or with bacon for two days. Who knows what I may have missed out on.

But more on that later. I promise there will be Texas and Chili Takedown inspired posts later this week. (Did I hear someone say chicken tortilla soup, kolaches, and brisket chili?) With the full-blown food insanity I plan on creating for this year’s Thanksgiving, I had to get started today if I had any hope of getting everything ready by Thursday. Don’t worry, I am not making the turkey or even the stuffing. Fortunately, as a twenty-four year old, I can still make whatever I damn want to contribute to Thanksgiving dinner, without a single worry about feeding a whole family. Probably a good thing, since if I were in charge of Thanksgiving, it would feature a deep-fried Turducken, the heaviest buttermilk-infused cornbread stuffing anyone has ever made, and a hell of a lot of desserts. Did I mention the artichoke and cheese dip with bacon I would replace the crudites with? I believe all my guests would end up in food comas they might never awake from. I guess I still have some growing up to do.

Anyway, I started my Thanksgiving prep with the recipe I am most excited about and have been thinking about since my unfortunate pumpkin sorbet failure. Have you figured it out yet? It’s Pumpkin PIE Ice Cream! I guess I shouldn’t have put it in the title if I didn’t want you to figure it out until now…

Either way, it’s delicious, creamy, so easy to make (no egg yolks or stovetop!) and reminiscent not just of pumpkin, but of pumpkin pie. And really, is there anything better on Thanksgiving?

Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream

Adapted from Cuisinart

1 1/2 cups whole milk

1 cup light brown sugar, packed tightly

2 1/4 tablespoons molasses

15 ounce can pumpkin puree (Do NOT use pumpkin pie mix, I implore you.)

1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon ginger

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon ground clove

2 1/2 cups heavy cream

1 teaspoon bourbon vanilla extract (Regular extract will do, just don’t use imitation vanilla.)

1 cup crumbled ginger cookies (I like making some of the crumbles very fine and others larger to add some texture.)

In a mixing bowl, use a whisk to slowly whisk together the milk, sugar, and molasses. Whisk until the sugar and molasses have completely dissolved, and be careful not to whip too vigorously.

Stir in the pumpkin puree and spices. Once they are incorporated, add the heavy cream and vanilla, whisking to combine. The spices may gather at the top of the mixture–don’t fret about this.

Place the mixture in the fridge and cool for at least 24 hours to chill throughout.

Pour the mixture into your ice cream maker, and process according to the manufacturer’s instructions. It should take 20 to 30 minutes to churn the ice cream. In the last 5 minutes, add the crumbled ginger cookies. Place the ice cream in the freezer for at least 2 hours to harden, if desired.

Serve with a ginger snap, or between two snickerdoodle cookies, for a Thanksgiving ice cream sandwich with a bit of a kick.

Leave a Reply

