Chickpea Snickety Snack

It’s been awhile, y’all! Alas, it has been a busy week of getting over the last bits of my cold/sore throat/congestion/whatnot, unrelenting work, and (what has been keeping me moving forward through all of this) preparing for a last-minute trip to Montreal. Two days from now, I will be feasting on poutine, maple syrup, and all other things canadienne. That is French for Canadian, right?

More Roasted Chickpeas

To top it off, the past week has been rife with dinner plans and whatnot, so, in reality, there was not a whole lot of cooking going on in my kitchen. On the night or two that I was home, I feasted on store-bought soup and Cheese Nips. And no, that does not a proper dinner make, though I have survived on lesser meals. And while I would love to make a hearty, healthy, and toasty plate of something and share the recipe with you tonight, I (and let me be completely unapologetic about this) am going out for lobster. Or, shall I say, lobstahhhhhhh. It is a long standing tradition in Harry’s family to go out for a lobster dinner whenever one gets a new job or a significant promotion. Harry is beginning a new full-time, benefits-loaded, bonafide position next week, and thus we are celebrating tonight. With lobstahhhhhh. This new job may also have something to do with our impending vacation. So, congrats, Harry! And thanks for the great opportunity for vacationing and lobster-ing.

With All the Fixins

Now that it all makes sense, let me make it clear that this trip is not all roses and foie gras. In a little less than two days, Harry and I will be on the road…for 6 hours…starting at around 7 A.M. And while that is not nearly as long as the twelve hours my mother insisted it would take us to get from New York to Montreal, that is still a long time, and, so, obviously, requires snacks. With limited time on my hands, I decided to try something different, easy, and healthy. I can get enough unhealthy snacks when we pull over at rest stops. For our healthy snack, I made spicy roasted chickpeas. They are crunchy, take pretty much no time or equipment to make, and are super healthy. They are also highly addictive, so I recommend you make a double batch. I know I am going to have a hard time making the ones I prepared last until Friday morning. Au revoir, for now!

Roasted Chickpeas

Roasted Spicy Chickpeas

Adapted from Eating Well

Makes about 4 servings

1 15 ounce can chickpeas, rinsed

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 teaspoon dried marjoram

1/4 teaspoon ground allspice

1/4 teaspoon coarse salt (You can use regular salt in a pinch.)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Chicky Peas

After rinsing chickpeas, remove the skins. This is not absolutely necessary, but helps keep the chickpeas from burning in the oven.

Toss chickpeas with all other ingredients in a bowl, until chickpeas are evenly coated. Spread in an even layer on a baking sheet.

All Dressed Up

Bake for 25-30 minutes, stirring once or twice. Chickpeas are ready when they appear to have hardened. Remove and let cool completely.

Stay tuned for foods of Oh Canada, a sweet variety of these roasted chickpeas, and other posts that send conflicting messages about healthy eating.

Leave a Reply

