Meyer Lemons

Have you ever wondered how you could live so long without knowing something that everyone else seems to know? Until about a year ago, I thought ponies were baby horses. More than a few of my classmates in college thought that one could drive between Alaska and Russia. Quality of public education in New York and Minnesota aside, what perplexes me more is when I discover a food previously unbeknownst to me, and it is so mind-blowingly delicious, that I cannot fathom why no one has previously introduced me to this new-found treat.

Meyer Lemon Curd

Such was the case with Meyer lemons. And I suppose I only have myself to blame for this one, since I have heard their praises sung many times, especially on my favorite canning blog, Food in Jars. But why no one sat me down and made me try one before, I do not know.

Among the pile of cookbooks I received for Christmas was, in fact, Food in Jars. I’ve been eyeing a few recipes for awhile, and finally decided to try out the Meyer lemon curd. And it is heavenly. Meyer lemons have a more orange-yellow skin, that is thinner than a traditional lemon’s, and they are so fragrant. And the curd they make is smooth, sweet, and tangy, though not as lip-puckering as one made with regular lemons. My only complaint is that the yield of this recipe is so low–next time I’ll be doubling or tripling it!

Food in Jars, an Inspiration

Meyer Lemon Curd

Adapted from Food in Jars

Makes about 2 half-pint jars

Zest of 4 medium to large Meyer lemons

1/2 cup fresh squeezed Meyer lemon juice

1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar

4 egg yolks

2 eggs

6 1/2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cubed

The Meyerest of Lemons

Combine the lemon zest and sugar, mixing them together well. Set aside.

Lemon Zesty

Put 1-2 inches of water in a small pot and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Find a heatproof bowl that fits over the small pot without touching the boiling water. Keep the bowl off of the pot for now.

Yolky

In the bowl, whisk the egg yolks and eggs together. Whisk in the zest and sugar. Mix in the lemon juice until all components are blended. Add the butter and place the bowl on the simmering pot of water.

Curd All Mixed Up

Using a silicone spatula, stir constantly as the lemon curd cooks. The curd will gradually thicken, and is done when it does not drip off of the spatula when it is lifted. The book suggested it would take about 6 to 9 minutes, but it took me closer to 25.

When the curd has reached a good consistency, press it through a sieve to remove the lemon zest and any bits of scrambled egg that may have developed.

Curding on the Double Boiler

Fill the jars with the lemon curd, leaving a generous half inch of space at the top of the jars.

Lemon Curd for the Licking

This recipe can be canned and preserved for up to 3 months. If you choose to can, the jars should be placed in a boiling water bath for 25 minutes, and then allowed to stay in the water for an additional five minutes after they have been processed, before being removed and stored.

Lemon Curd, Canned and Ready

This curd can be enjoyed in a pie crust, on shortbread cookies, with pancakes, mixed with yogurt, or, my favorite way, straight from the jar.

2 thoughts on “Meyer Lemons

  1. Pingback: Sweet Summer Succotash | The Quarter Life Kitchen

Leave a Reply

