We’re Jamming…Jamming, Jamming, Jamming

To think that jamming was a thing of the past. We’re jamming, and I hope this jam is gonna last.

Jam Jars

Forgive the long blogging hiatus, and embrace my blog, my jam, and the Bob Marley references. I promise it is worth it, for this jam falls into that most beloved category of recipes: incredibly low effort for a long-lasting* high return. (I asterisk long-lasting because though this recipes yields a plentiful 3 pints, they will only last so long as you are able to resist sneaking into the jars for “just one more spoonful” in perpetuity. I know I can’t help myself.)

Spoonful of Jam

I returned from vacation to the first signs of fruit ripe for the canning. And though I’ve been wanting to get my hands into the spring bounty since I got back two weeks ago, I’ve been held back by a lingering vacation attitude. I needed to find a recipe that was so simple, that I had no excuse not to make it. And I’m glad that I happened upon this one, for with only 4 ingredients, it has reaffirmed for me that sometimes the best things in life are the simplest.

Raspberries

Like a mother’s love. Okay, so that may not be simple, but this jam is such a winning combination of sweetness, tartness, and crunch, that anybody (including any mother) is bound to appreciate it. I’ll be sharing this recipe with my mom and some other special ladies this Mother’s Day weekend, and I hope you’ll consider doing the same.

Food In Jars

Raspberry Jam

Adapted from Food In Jars

Makes about 3 pints

7 cups crushed raspberries (about 2 1/2 dry quarts)

4 cups sugar

Juice of 1 lemon

1 3 oz. package liquid pectin

Mashed Raspberries

If you are preserving your jam, prepare 3 pint jars in a boiling water bath.

Combine the raspberries and sugar in a saucepan and stir frequently until the mixture forms thick bubbles, about 20 minutes.

Add the lemon juice and pectin and let the mixture return to a boil. Once the mixture returns to a boil, let it boil for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently, until it has thickened.

Stirred Raspberries

Pour the jam into the jars, leaving an inch of headspace. If you are canning, process the jars for 10 minutes. Voila! I told you it was easy.

Jam Jar

Enjoy and keep posted for more jamming/canning posts, because I’ll be jamming ’till the jam is through.
Leave a Reply

