Quinoa Super Salad

Never in my life have I been so excited to receive a cookbook as I was when I was recently gifted Plenty: Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi. I had heard its praises sung high months ago, and then had the pleasure of visiting Ottolenghi’s Notting Hill location back in April when I was in London. It was de-lec-table–the perfect place to stock up for a brunch picnic in Hyde Park (especially if you want to be the envy of all the park-goers and squirrels).

Plentiful Bounty

I would, however, recommend that you pick up Ottolenghi’s book while at his store, if you have a chance–waiting 4 months to taste his amazing concoctions again was much too long. While not a vegetarian, Ottolenghi’s book of vegetable dishes shows that he has a true mastery of all things root, legume, pod, leaf, or otherwise veggie. He could have fooled me. And in addition to tasting amazing, his food is beautiful. With each page I turn in his book, I am more and more amazed by the rich hues of his varied dishes.

Summery Salad

This quinoa salad is not the first recipe from his book I have tested (that honor goes to a grilled eggplant with Greek yogurt and pomegranate dish). But it is one that has gone straight into my “frequently made dishes” repertoire. And I say that with confidence even though I made it for the first time today. And if you make it, I promise you will, too.

Salad Stars

Quinoa Super Salad

Adapted from Plenty

Makes 3 generous servings

1/4 cup red quinoa

4 slices sourdough bread

3 medium tomatoes, diced

1/3 cup grape tomatoes, diced

2 large cucumbers, not peeled, diced

1 cup corn

3 cloves garlic, minced

4 tablespoons cilantro, chopped

2 tablespoons parsley, chopped

2 tablespoons mint, chopped

1/3 cup olive oil, plus extra for the bread

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon lemon juice

salt and pepper, to taste

Quinoa

Place the quinoa is a pot of boiling water. Cook for about 10 minutes, until the quinoa is cooked. Drain the quinoa and let dry.

Brush the bread with olive oil and salt to taste. Toast in toaster oven or an oven preheated to 350 degrees. If using an oven, it should take about 10 minutes. FLip the bread halfway through the cooking times. Remove from oven or toaster oven, let cool, and cut into crouton-sized pieces.

Sourdough Croutons

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. If you want to eat this over several days, I recommend making the sourdough croutons as needed–all other ingredients can be combined ahead of time and kept in a container in the fridge.

To Dig In
Enjoy as a light summer meal or en excellent side to most any dish.
Leave a Reply

