Artichoke, Spinach, and Cheese, Cheese, Cheese Dip

When I wrote my last post, mere days ago, I was able to point to my budding cold as reason enough to pretty much present the recipe and leave the post at that. Is being on the tail-end of that cold good enough reason to do that again?

Artichoke and Spinach Dip

Probably not, but after seeing that picture, didn’t you just think, holy s***, let’s cut to the chase and get this cheesy goodness cooking? No? Well, I assure you, I am doing you a favor by not wasting your time with verbose proclamations of its sheer amazingness. Instead, I will present you with the following two facts. One: I prepared this dip for Christmas Eve this year, and set it out as the first guests began arriving. Was there any dip left for those that came ever so slightly late? Barely. I tried to stop those early arrivers, they tried to stop themselves, nothing could be done. Two: I first encountered this dip when my friend Steve brought it to a turducken party I threw a few years ago. I have since demanded that he make it for every food-filled event that he attends. Enough said, and thank you for sharing this easy recipe for pure decadence, Steve!

All Chopped Up

Artichoke and Spinach Dip

From Steve Carbonaro

Makes about 12 appetizer servings

1 cup frozen spinach

1 1/2 cups frozen artichoke hearts

1/4 cup mayonnaise

6 ounces cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/4 cup sour cream

3/4 lb. mozzarella cheese, coarsely shredded (I like to buy high-quality mozzarella and shred it myself)

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Cheesy Dip

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Boil the spinach and artichoke hearts with 1 cup of water. Thoroughly drain the liquid, and chop.

Artichoke and Spinach

Combine the mayonnaise, cream cheese, cheddar cheese, sour cream, garlic powder, salt, and half of the mozzarella in a bowl. Add the spinach and artichoke hearts and mix.

All Mixed Up

Place mixture in a medium-sized baking dish, and sprinkle the remaining mozzarella cheese on top.

Mozz On Top

Bake until the mozzarella is slightly golden brown and bubbly, about 25 to 30 minutes.

Boiled Dip

Serve with crackers or bread. Make sure the main course is almost ready, lest your guests gorge themselves on all the dip–I know I would (ahem, did).

Leave a Reply

