Chunkies

Is there an activity more associated with Mother’s Day than brunch? Being fortunate enough to live in a neighborhood that is known for its many restaurants, and about 15 minutes away from my mommy, I definitely am not complaining about this annual tradition. And living so close to my parents means that it doesn’t have to be a special occasion for me to meet up with my parents for a meal or to stop by my childhood home.

Chunky Lola

But having my own place so close by also means that I rarely see my parents for more than a few hours at a time, and even more rarely overnight. And while I’m glad I’m not living in their basement or sleeping in the bed I’ve had since I was four years old that they have somehow managed to hold on to, I do miss many of the things we would do when I was younger or when I was back home for the summer during my college years–things we did together by virtue of living under the same roof. There were weekend walks around the neighborhood, evenings spent drinking tea and playing battleship or rummy, and, what I miss most of all, many hours spent cooking together.

Every Christmas Eve, I make sure I plan at least a few dishes that require being made right before serving, just so I can have some moments in the kitchen with my parents. And while it wasn’t a part of how I celebrated Mother’s Day this year, I’d like to make cooking together a part of my mother’s and my Mother’s Day tradition in years to come. Having some “adult” (unsweetened chocolate and pecans) and “kid-friendly” (milk chocolate and sweetened coconut) flavors, I think these cookies would be the perfect place to start. With the few hours they need to spend “marinating” in the fridge, you can make the dough, have some brunch, and be back just in time to bake them.

The Chocolate Stars

Chunkies

Adapted from Flour by Joanne Chang

Makes about 25 cookies

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature

1/2 cup sugar

2/3 cup light brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups flour

2/3 cup old fashioned rolled oats (not instant!)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

5 ounces semisweet or milk chocolate, chopped

4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped

1 1/2 cups chopped pecans

1 cup sweetened shredded coconut

The Chunkies

Cream together the butters and sugars in a stand mixer on medium speed. It will take about 5-7 minutes for the mixture to become light and fluffy. Scrape the sides, and the eggs and vanilla, and mix until incorporated well.

Sugar Butter Sugar

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, oats, baking soda, and salt. Then add the chocolates, pecans, and coconut, and mix to combine.

Working in batches, add the flour mixture to the butter mixture just until the flour mixture is incorporated.

The Chunks

Put the dough in an airtight container and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, but preferably overnight. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Roll the cookies to about the size of bowling balls, and slightly flatten them. Place them on a baking sheet about two inches apart. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, until the edges are golden brown but they still look soft in the center.

Chunkies in the Making

Eat with your Mother’s Day brunch! Or any other time…

Leave a Reply

