Blueberry Lemon Syrup

Hello, blogiverse! I have returned after the hiatus to end all hiatuses. While I won’t make excuses, I will say that since my last post I have travelled to Belgium, Poland, and Sweden, left my job of two years, moved, and started grad school. It has been a fun and wild ride (that is really just beginning), but, I assure you, not a leisurely one. That is to say: if I could have posted, I would have. But as I am sure grad school will remind me, sometimes one must prioritize rather than strive for perfection.

Blueberry

And with that, I will share with you my mission: five posts in five days! And while you shouldn’t expect the best composition or any lengthy exposition, you can expect five fine new recipes to try this Labor Day weekend. To start: blueberry lemon syrup. This is a delicious and refreshing syrup that I made for my former co-workers as a goodbye gift. A little goes a long way (especially on white fabrics–be careful!) and its uses are versatile. Pour it in cocktails, seltzer, or yogurt, or add a little cornstarch and use it as a syrup on scones or other baked goods.

Blueberry and Lemon

Blueberry Lemon Syrup

From Food in Jars

Makes 4 half-pint jars

3 pints of blueberries

zest of 1 lemon

juice of 1 lemon

1 3/4 cup sugar

3 cups water

Lemon

Mash the blueberries with a potato masher or meat tenderizer and place them in a medium pot. Add the water and lemon zest and bring the mixture to a boil. Once it is boiling, reduce the heat and simmer until the liquid is very purple and the blueberries seem soft. This should take about 20-25 minutes.

Strain the liquid from the blueberry parts by putting a large sieve over a large bowl and letting the mixture pass through it–undisturbed! Do not press down on the blueberries or otherwise try to extract additional liquid, because this will cause a cloudy syrup. Once you are done straining, discard the solids.

Straining Blueberries

Put the liquid back in the pot, and add the lemon juice and sugar. Bring this to a boil and make sure to skim any foam.

Once the mixture is brought to a boil, you can pour it into jars. If you are canning the syrup, process it for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath using jars you have sterilized and prepared.

Boiling Blueberries

Leave a Reply

